Deburring, dimpling and drywall delivery

Super bowl Sunday and we are all snowed in. We have about ten inches on the ground. It snowed all weekend but today was a beautiful day to dig out.

Last night, I took all of the rudder components – ribs, spar and skins – inside the house and sat down in the family room to deburr the rivet holes. It sounds so simple, but that is not something I had the luxury of doing when the project was at the hangar.

After putting the snowblower through the paces, I decided to setup the dimpling c-frame in the basement where I have a little more room. I was able to get nearly all the holes dimpled in both skins. I’m very pleased with the results from the cleaveland c-frame tool. The dimples are very crisp and it’s not too loud at all. I also like using the pneumatic squeezer to dimple along the edges, but it’s a lot easier to put a hole where one shouldn’t be when you’re using the squeezer.

I met Rick Blaes at the Home Depot (a.k.a. “Homer’s”). We picked up a bunch of drywall and related supplies so I can finish the garage this week. Hopefully I can get around to that and still make some progress on the plane.

Leave a comment