Rudder Started

I was so motivated after getting the Vertical Stabilizer put together that I got a lot done on the rudder this weekend.  In between work and a fantasy football draft, I got both the skins and all the parts deburred.  Then, I assembled the ribs – they are each made of two stiffeners riveted together – and clecoed the whole thing together to match-drill.  It’s fun to see so much progress.

I was eating lunch over at the Newark-Heath airport yesterday and decided it was finally time to get my medical renewed and take my flight review so I am current.  I’ve got both on the calendar this week.  Ashley pointed out that it will be nice to be able to discuss my pilot’s license around friends without needing the disclaimer “well, yes, I have my pilot’s license, but I don’t really FLY.”

One Response

  1. That is going to be one awesome rudder…..best ever in the history of the world, no doubt! Great progress. And it’s great to hear that soon, you’ll be legal to fly…hopefully in a plane with a few more working parts than your RV!

Leave a comment